Dynamic Keys

The PHP Endeavour

leave a comment »

I’m done playing around. Perl sucks at web development.
Wait, wait! Let me clarify. Perl is actually a great language for database communication, and creating full-blown websites! It has great modules to help you do so, and everything! But compared to other scripting languages, Perl sucks at web development. There are two major reasons for this:

  1. Perl has a major lack in documentation when it comes to it’s web frameworks. Even the books that are written on certain frameworks are terrible.
  2. The code gets messy. Now, let me be the first to say that any Perl code can get messy, and I like to think that I’m good at keeping it clean. But it gets nearly impossible to keep clean when developing for the web.

Now don’t get me wrong, Perl is my absolute favorite language (so far, I have tried Perl, C, Java, Scheme, and Javascript), but it has it’s own purposes. Perl is better off the web. Perl is better when it’s not messing with GUIs. Perl is better when it’s working with text. So, today is the start of the PHP endeavor.

Now, for those of you who are saying “But PHP stinks!”, I’m a firm believer that every language has a main purpose. Yeah, I can make GUIs in Perl. Sure, I can manipulate text with Lisp. But why should I? There are better tools for the job. My goal here is to find out what the right tool is for the task at hand. After intense¬† research and communication, I’ve decided to start with PHP.

Wish me luck!

Written by Dynamic

August 11, 2012 at 10:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

